top of page
Random Speed Networking and TAD Talk with Stephen Maddock OBE - FREE
Random Speed Networking and TAD Talk with Stephen Maddock OBE - FREE

Thu, 09 Jun

|

ZOOM

Random Speed Networking and TAD Talk with Stephen Maddock OBE - FREE

Join us for a free, friendly, fun and fast hour of random speed networking with a 10-minute TAD Talk by Stephen Maddock OBE. (1-2pm BST, 5-6am PDT, 8-9am EDT, 4-5pm GST, 11pm AEDT)

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

09 Jun 2022, 13:00 – 14:00 BST

ZOOM

Guests

About the event

Random Speed Networking - It's fun, fast and effective.

We will share the Zoom link by email before the event. If for any reson you donlt have it, please send us an email at mark.walmsley@ArtsAndCultureNetwork.com.

The Arts & Culture Network is a growing global community of professionals shaping the future of arts and culture together. We have over 13,000 members on LinkedIn, 80 of which attended our event on 5th May.

You may like to join us as a subscriber to support our work, and for additional membership benefits, including access to our community hub, TAD Talks and interviews on-demand.  It starts at just £5 per month (€6). https://www.artsandculturenetwork.com/join

At 1pm (BST) on Thursday 9th June I'm hosting another hour of random speed networking including a TAD Talk 10-minute speed webinar.

We all get to meet 9 or more fellow members and guests, at random, in a series of 1-2-1s and small groups in under an hour, without leaving our desks, or dressing from the waist down if we don't want to.

It's free, fun, fast and effective and we've had some great feedback. We've had several reports of follow on meetings, artistic collaboration, business deals and hires.

The TAD Talk

At half time, we present a 10-minute speed webinar called the TAD Talk (The Arts Debate)

Stephen Maddock OBE - Chief Executive - City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

"The New Normal"

Between the mid 1980s and 2000s I was an "extra" playing in the percussion section of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. I also designed and launched the CBSO's first website in 1995, so I am delighted to welcome the orchestra's CEO Stephen Maddock OBE for our TAD Talk, 10-minute speed webinar on 9th June.

Stephen has been the Chief Executive at the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra since 1999 and has presided over a period of immense artistic and commercial success for one of the world's great symphony orchestras.

He lives in Birmingham with his wife and two children, whose music making is far more accomplished these days than his once powerful bass voice and lapsed violin playing. He is also one half of the Midlands team on BBC Radio 4’s Round Britain Quiz.

In his 10-minute TAD Talk, Stephen will talk about what he has learned over the last 2 years as a leader of a world-famous arts organisation and where he believes we are all heading. He will explore the "new normal" as it relates to programmers, artists, audiences and digital engagement.

Here is a selection of the organisations registered for recent London events:

  • Sadler's Wells
  • Science Museum
  • University of the Arts London
  • Arts Council England
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Royal Opera House
  • Shakespeare's Globe
  • Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games
  • Natural History Museum
  • Lincoln Center
  • Harvard University
  • Birmingham Royal Ballet
  • Welsh National Opera
  • British Council
  • British Library
  • Historic Royal Palaces
  • BAFTA
  • Universal Music Group
  • Ticketmaster
  • Coventry City of Culture
  • British Heart Foundation
  • Sky Arts
  • BBC
  • Southbank Centre
  • National Theatre
  • Arts Marketing Association
  • The RSA
  • English Heritage
  • Imperial War Museums
  • Warner Bros.
  • Sotheby's
  • Ashmolean Museum
  • Historic England
  • Walt Disney
  • Old Royal Naval College
  • Tate
  • Barbican Centre
  • London Symphony Orchestra

Feedback:

  • "The event was amazing I haven’t networked in ages so was feeling a bit nervous but everyone was so lovely!"
  • "So much fun on a Thursday!
 Thanks Mark, look forward to the next one. So many people jumped on LinkedIN immediately afterwards."
  • "Brilliant event, thanks for organising and I’ll definitely join the next one. Best wishes."

For more information please contact the host Mark Walmsley at mark.walmsley@artsandculturenetwork.com or call +44 (0)7947 793 554

Mark

Mark Walmsley FRSA AGSM

Chief Culture Vulture

Arts & Culture Network

Tickets

  • Free Ticket

    This is your free ticket for this event. The Zoom link will follow nearer the time.

    £0.00

Total

£0.00

Share this event

Membership offers
bottom of page